Pajama Party with the AGDiK!

… and then some other random gets.

So, it became abundantly clear to me that the American Girl Duo in Kingsport needed some PJs. It’s quickly getting very, very cold here in the mountains, I’ve officially had to put my vellux blanket under my comforter to keep warm in my house with no insulation at night – along with the canine heating pad that comes in the form of my very large furry dog – and last night the 30 mph winds dropped a carpet of leaves on my front lawn.

So I bit down last week and bought some jimjams for the girls. And some other stuff for them. And for me. Over the last few weeks. *cough* Not a review, yet, but if anyone is interested in a review of anything pictured in this post, by all means leave a comment and if you can stand a review without a total deboxening, I will provide!

We begin...

We begin…

So these things begin as they often do. With two slightly bored American Girls playing with ponies on a half-couch. You know, just as you do.

pajamaparty001 Mari: I’m so glad I have a new friend here at last, and that Miss AJ finally started to bite down and buy some of the retired outfits – since the retired outfits are nearly always better than what A*G usually has out, b-but…
Elyse: But what?

Elyse why are you slouching so????

Elyse why are you slouching so????

Mari: But I want new stuff!
Elyse: Mari… we’re both wearing new stuff. It just came yesterday from the big Ebay department store, remember?

Mari Campbell in the Sparkly Tunic & Jeans Outfit

Mari Campbell in the Sparkly Tunic & Jeans Outfit

Elyse: … remember? You, like, squealed with delight when you saw the outfit she got for you to wear first, since she had to have it once Miss Nethie said it looks good on everyone!

Elyse Joubert in the School Days Outfit I

Elyse Joubert in the School Days Outfit I

Elyse: …And I even liked the outfit she got me even though it’s so pink!

Oh! A wild BOX appeared!

Oh! A wild BOX appeared!

Elyse: So really, we should just be grateful for what we’re getti–
Mari: …you were saying?
Elyse: Shaddup.
Mari: What’s in here? Hey, Miss AJ, get out a knife and slice this open!

Bossy little things, aren't they?

Bossy little things, aren’t they?

Both: YAY CLOTHES FROM A*G!

Boxes were quickly divvied out.

Boxes were quickly divvied out.

Mari: All for me?
Miss AJ: All for you.

It's hard to open a box when you don't have opposable thumbs.

It’s hard to open a box when you don’t have opposable thumbs.

Mari: What’s in it! Help!

They're so pink! (Mari loves pink)

They’re so pink! (Mari loves pink)

Mari: *gasp!* Miss AJ, you didn’t!
Miss AJ: I did indeed! Go, try them on!

Pink pajamas!

Pink pajamas!

And Mari scampered off.

Skinnier box with more stuff in. Yeah, I don't get it either.

Skinnier box with more stuff in. Yeah, I don’t get it either.

Elyse: Now me?
Miss AJ: Now you.

Blue clothes! (Elyse rocks her some blue.)

Blue clothes! (Elyse rocks her some blue.)

Elyse: *gasp!* All for me?!
Miss AJ: Indeed, sweets. You needed them badly and I wanted you to have a set all your own. Go on, git.

Blue pajamas! (Y'all are seriously not prepared for the cute you are about to see.)

Blue pajamas! (Y’all are seriously not prepared for the cute you are about to see.)

And Elyse ran off as well to get changed.

Mari in Julie's Pajamas

Mari in Julie’s Pajamas

Miss AJ: Well? What do you think?
Mari: I LOVE them! They’re so soft and comfortable and loose!
Miss AJ: And they’re not capris!
Mari: I know right?! Thanks Miss AJ!

Elyse in the Polar Bear Pajamas

Elyse in the Polar Bear Pajamas

Miss AJ: And you? What’cha thinkin’?
Elyse: These are the best! I love them!
Miss AG: And they go so well with your pretty blue eyes!
Elyse: Thank you!!!

Clambering back into the dorm

Clambering back into the dorm

Mari: We should have a pajama party!
Elyse: Yes!!!
Miss AJ: That sounds like a great idea! You girls have fun!
Mari: HEY! AJ! Don’t forget the light!

Got it

Got it

Miss AJ: G’night girls.
Both: Good night, AJ and Internet People!

I’m so glad I chose both those sets! Anyway, so onward now to other things!

Handmade sweater

Handmade sweater

See that? That’s a new handmade sweater. My mother made that! With no pattern! Fear her knitting skills, trust. It fits Mari perfectly and looks so good on her! The jeans are A*G, and the boots are My Life As… from Walmart. Not the best boots but will do for now!

Two, two sweaters, ah ah ah.

Two, two sweaters, ah ah ah.

I’m really loathe to put my dolls in identical outfits, it’s just so much fun for me to give them personalities and dress them according to the feel I get off of them. So, while I wanted them both to have sweaters (and thus am so grateful to my mother for making Mari’s sweater!)I like that they’re just different enough to look different. Elyse’s sweater was gifted to me in a lot of clothes my aunt bought on Etsy and I believe it came from LavenderLore.

Winter gear with berets!

Winter gear with berets!

These as well are Etsy finds. The one on Mari was in that same lot my aunt bought that Elyse’s sweater came in and I thought it was all PRECIOUS, down to the mittens! – at the time, I only had Mari. – and when I got Elyse, thanks to the same aunt, I decided that I wanted a similar one, so I contacted the woman who made them (BusyBeezCollective) and asked her to make one in a different color for Elyse. She was only too happy to do it and so she got to work and I paid her when she was done, and she said she had “a surprise” in the bag for BOTH girls in the bag when she Etsymailed me to let me know she was done. I was intrigued!

Winter gear with puffyball hats!

Winter gear with puffyball hats!

That was what she’d done! She’d found another hat pattern, and threw in hats for both outfits, since she had material enough left to do some to match the one I already had! Isn’t that awesome?! The berets will be more for “formal occasions.” Dunno what those’d be since we’re not church-going folk and even if we were, I wouldn’t be bringing my dolls with me! The puffyball hats, I can see taking some outdoor pictures with the jackets and mittens and some jeans for some winter fun! I love these outfits so much! Please check out BusyBeezCollective, because she is super nice and very, very talented!

Say it with me now: All the Abbey must....

Say it with me now: All the Abbey must….

Now is anyone at all surprised that this pretty girl came home with me the minute I saw her? I didn’t think so. As soon as I heard there was a 13 Wishes Haunt the Casbah Abbey, I knew she’d be coming home. That mane of hair is something else, but I do think she’s utterly gorgeous. As all Abbey dolls tend to be!

Come closer...

Come closer…

She’s got such a sweet little face. Of course, I think Abbey’s straight-up snarkface is precious anyway, but this one has a softer look to her.

C'mon... closer!

C’mon… closer!

I might be trying to do some straightening of that hair, but only if I can do it without ruining the pretty twists across her head, cause I love those.

Dead Tired Spectra

Dead Tired Spectra

Dead Tired Spectra is another new Monster High get! Spectra’s worming her way into my heart a little more with every release. I just think she’s precious. I really like this one. Her little nightie is so cute. My only quibble is that her slippers aren’t translucent. Like the one in the pictures…

The doll that could have been. The SLIPPERS that could have been.

The doll that could have been. The SLIPPERS that could have been.

See?! Look at that! So cute! I do love me translucent stuff. Hence why Spectra’s translucent feet and hands give me such a kick, I guess. But no. The doll doesn’t actually have translucent slippers. Oh well. She is still very cute!

So Goth she was born dead.

So Goth she was born dead.

Her face seems skinnier to me than some of her earlier releases, but I think I rather like it this way. She is very, very thin on the webisodes after all. Another cool thing?

Whoa, jump back, hurt ma'self!

Whoa, jump back, hurt ma’self!

Her hair is shorter than her previous releases! I dig that though! It’s still just as silky soft as the other releases, and still has that same choppy cut to it, it’s just shorter. Tres cool!

I had a Rebel, now I got a Royal!

I had a Rebel, now I got a Royal!

The only other doll of the first four issued in Ever After High that I wanted besides Maddie Hatter was Briar Beauty. But I really, really hate going to the mall. Like, a lot hate going to the mall. Like, instant migraine hate going to the mall. So I was loathe to go back and get her and bided my time until Ever After High dolls started showing up elsewhere. And last week they did show up at Target, and I got the last Briar! She was worth the wait! She’s so pretty! I headcanon her as black, and she does pass the paper bag test! I love her tights, that’s something that Mattel is doing right with this line, fun and interesting tights on these girls!

Get my good side, please!

Get my good side, please!

There’s nothing here new really, considering she’s been out for awhile and a lot of people have reviewed her already, but she’s so super cute. I really want the Legacy Day one too, but I think my next EAH purchase will be the Ashlynn Ella set and I’ll sell Hunter. Then Cerise Hood. Because hell yes to an Asian doll!

Rabbit hole? I didn't see any rabbit hole!

Rabbit hole? I didn’t see any rabbit hole!

So, I wasn’t going to go down the Bratzillaz path apart from my one little Switch-a-Witch doll, but when I saw Vampelina here on Amazon one time, it was love. Ain’t nobody surprised by that, right? I had the same reaction to Fianna Fins, but I’ve yet to find her! But I did see Vampelina at Walmart and pounced like I had just found the Holy Grail. She’s really super cute. That hair, like the earlier releases – I’m thinking back to Emily’s review of Meygana Broomstix as I say this – is a mess, but I’m hoping a boil and comb will help fix that at some point. It’s her eyes that are so striking to me!

othergets013So pretty!

See you later this weekend with something else, I’m sure!

2 thoughts on “Pajama Party with the AGDiK!

  1. AAAH!!! Oh my gosh. Found you through Neth’s blog. So many people who headcanon their dolls. Makes me a happy panda! You win at life.

Leave a Reply

