My Favorite Things: Handmades!

Time for a new series here at the Snarker! My Favorite Things will just be me going around and finding 5-10 of my favorite things from any given thing I have a collection of, taking pictures of them and talking a little bit about why I like them so much.

This was born out of the idea that I have a lot of stuff, but yet I don’t really have a place to gather it all up into one cohesive mess and take a picture of it, so how about I just pick and choose? Some ideas I’ve scribbled down for this are:

– Favorite dolls that aren’t Monster High
– Favorite Monster High dolls that aren’t Abbey
– Favorite Abbey Bominable dolls
– Favorite ponies (by generation)
– Favorite official American Girl Outfits
– Favorite off-brand 18″ doll outfits
– And on and on.

And today’s thrilling episode?

Handmade American Girl Clothes!

I have a lot of handmade clothes. My aunt got surprisingly giddy and excited when I was given Mari, and went Etsy shopping. In addition to that, my having American Girl dolls seems to have awaken the seamstress within my mother and she’s made several things for my girls. And I’m an Etsy shopper as well, so I have a lot here to choose from! So, I chose six, three for each of my dolls. Pictures under the jump are in no particular order.

 

Elyse Joubert in a handmade orange sweater and scarf, American Girl jeans and brown Our Generation flats.

Elyse Joubert in a handmade orange sweater and scarf, American Girl jeans and brown Our Generation flats.

My momma made this one! After making the light brown one pictured in the last American Girl post I made, she decided that Elyse needed one of her own. Because Elyse wears color so well, she opted for something brighter.

A note: The orange in this sweater does not mean that my family and I are University of Tennessee Vols fans! I can’t stand football anyway, and recently had to unfollow someone on Twitter because I got tired of hearing “Hotty Toddy” five million times a day. *twitch*

So anyway, I really love this sweater. I think it suits Elyse very, very well, and fits her like a glove! I think it looks perfect on her!

Mari Campbell in a Nethilia-created blue polka-dot dress with hair ribbons and sash, and white Springfield Collection espadrilles.

Mari Campbell in a Nethilia-created blue polka-dot dress with hair ribbons and sash, and white Springfield Collection espadrilles.

This is such a lovely dress. When Nethilia sent me Mari, she included several outfits – two meet outfits she had as spares, some nice formal dresses, and some t-shirts (including Mari’s beloved American Girl Seattle shirt). In the note in the birthday card she sent, she had written “The blue dress is just because.” As I’ve mentioned before, blue is one of my favorite colors, and I also love polka-dots more than should be legal. She had some blue polka-dot fabric, and so she threw this dress together for Mari.

And let me tell you, Mari is violently protective of it. When she heard that Elyse was coming, she was quick to inform me that no one else would be wearing the dress that Miss Nethie made for her and if I did let Elyse wear it, she would never speak to me again. I think Mari looks beautiful in it. She truly looks amazing in everything I have ever put her in, and that goes double for this dress. I love it so much, because it was sent to me by someone I consider one of my closest friends and love and adore, and I can see the love and care that she put into every stitch.

Elyse Joubert in a LoveEllieBean-created cherry blossom dress and pink Our Generation flats.

Elyse Joubert in a LoveEllieBean-created cherry blossom dress and pink Our Generation flats.

I found this dress on a random Etsy search one day. I don’t remember how I came across it, but suddenly there it was staring at me and I was squealing and pointing and bookmarking it. I have a thing for cherries and cherry blossoms and I just thought this was lovely. So, I revisited it several times and finally I just bit down and bought it. I think it looks amazing on Elyse!

The dress was created by LoveEllieBean over on Etsy, and features hand-crocheted lace in addition to all the dresswork. I think it’s just lovely and delicate and very, very girly. Not usually something Elyse goes for but too bad kid, you’re wearing this dress. I keep meaning to drop her a line and see if she could whip up a headband to go with – I like headbands for my dolls, for reasons I’ll explain later in this post – but I always forget, and now it’s been months. Maybe I can do it if I find the fabric myself.

Mari Campbell in a turquoise and white paisley jumper with matching t-shirt and hat, and white Springfield Collection espadrilles

Mari Campbell in a turquoise and white paisley jumper with matching t-shirt and hat, and white Springfield Collection espadrilles

This is another Mom creation! This is also where we learned that Mom’s sewing machine is slowly dying and why she’s since stuck to knitting. I got home from work one day to find that she’d bought a pattern and some fabric and whipped this together! Turquoise is one of those colors that looks good on everyone, and Mari is absolutely no exception. This is another that Mom insists is just for Mari, and so I’ve respected her wishes. It also makes Elyse look very, very young, younger than I have her age at, so this is better. Mari wears hats really well too.

I just love this one, again, because Mom made it and I just love that my getting big dolls like this has awoken the seamstress within. When I was little she made Barbie clothes for me sometimes, but American Girl coming into our lives has brought it to a whole new level.

Elyse Joubert in a BusyBeezCollective-created outfit of a t-shirt, denim vest, blue seersucker pants and matching headband, and American Girl's Blueberry Clogs

Elyse Joubert in a BusyBeezCollective-created outfit of a t-shirt, denim vest, blue seersucker pants and matching headband, and American Girl’s Blueberry Clogs

I have loved this outfit from the minute I got it, but putting it on Elyse just gave it all kinds of new life.

After I got Mari, my aunt went Etsy shopping and came away with several outfits she bought from BusyBeezCollective. (The same woman who made my winter sets!) This one was one of my favorites from the get go. Those adorable pants! The cute little vest! The headband! Oh! I was in love.

It looked great on Mari, but putting it on Elyse? Just makes it look sensational. It brings out the bright blue of her eyes so well and just looks like it was made for her. So, it became her outfit. I love headbands on Elyse because they keep her hair out of her face and let us see those pretty eyes and cute little face.

Mari Campbell in a BusyBeezeCollective-created outfit of a ladybug-print tunic with a white shirt underneath, matching headband, and black capris with ladybug buttons.

Mari Campbell in a BusyBeezeCollective-created outfit of a ladybug-print tunic with a white shirt underneath, matching headband, and black capris with ladybug buttons.

This is another from the same batch of clothes as the blue one above. I squealed when I saw this. It was so perfect. Ladybugs, polka-dots and cute? Perfection to me. I think it looks just amazing on and so, so good on Mari. This one is definitely hers. A similar one was sent that looks better on Elyse and you’ll see that one some other time!

The reason I like headbands on Mari is a little more involved. Marisol dolls have the Josefina headmold, and that mold is notoriously difficult to get to have glasses on correctly. The headbands help with that, they help keep them in place and from bouncing up above the bridge of her nose. Not that I did such a great job with these pictures, but you know. Usually.

So anyway, that’s it! Next week, there’ll be another installment. Don’t know which one of my choices yet. Maybe Abbey, it’s been awhile since Miss Abbey has been featured!

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Things: Handmades!

Leave a Reply

