My Favorite Things: Abbey Bominable!

I have mentioned before that my raison d’être in Monster High collecting is none other than Abbey Bominable. Apart from my much talked about love of blue toys, there was just something about that blunt but sweet girl that hit me right in the “oh my god, I so identify” place of my brain and heart and she became my Gotta Catch ‘Em All in this never-ending line of dolls based on the children of famous monsters.

So, it makes sense that I would, upon getting most all of the ones that are currently out (I don’t have Art Class yet, because this close to Holiday Shopping Season beginning, I refuse to drive an hour to the nearest Toys R Us), dedicate a My Favorite Things post to her, right?

In case you need a refresher, here’s the sea from which we get to choose.

15 Abbey Bominable dolls.

15 Abbey Bominable dolls.

Just so we’re clear, I’m not counting the Fashion Pack dolls in this because technically they didn’t come on a doll.

The hardest part with a post like this, filled with a doll that I love so much is picking one who has to be “in last place.” I love them all! But, if one must be picked, then…

13 Wishes: Haunt the Casbah Abbey Bominable

13 Wishes: Haunt the Casbah Abbey Bominable

It is not that I don’t like this doll. On the contrary, I do very much! I’ve mentioned previously that her sweet, softer looking faceup is appealing, and I love that she’s sparkly and just yes, I’m very glad I have her! There’s things I don’t like – the use of tinsel that doesn’t do anything but crimp and flyaway, for instance, instead of her usual tinsel – but overall, I think she definitely belongs in this Top 9! She’s just my least favorite of the Top 9!

Skull Shores Abbey Bominable

Skull Shores Abbey Bominable

I don’t usually go for “swimming suit” dolls. But of course, with her, an exception had to be made. And as far as this one goes, Mattel did a lot right. They gave her a modest one-piece swimming suit instead of a bikini like many of her counterparts, and a sarong to cover up her lower half with. And then… that hat!

As you all well know by now, I am a Southern Woman. And a quintessential part of the Southern Woman Working Outside wardrobe is a hat that keeps the sun off our face and protects us and makes us look, as we say, precious and dahlin’. Having not seen the entirety of the Skull Shores movie myself, I don’t know if there’s some character related reason for the hat – which, given Abbey’s colder-climate upbringing would entirely make sense – but all I know is that I think it’s adorable, and it suits her quite well.

Picture Day Abbey Bominable

Picture Day Abbey Bominable

Oh, Picture Day Abbey, how do I love thee. Let me count the ways, and we’ll just call them all PANTS!

I make no attempt to hide that I love when toy companies look beyond the usual dresses and skirts and put a doll in a nice pair of pants, and Abbey here does not disappoint. I suppose they’d probably be classified as leggings, but I don’t care. They cover her legs and knees, therefore they are pants. Hmph. I also love that she lacks a headband, has bangs, and that knuckle ring basically owns me. To the point that I still haven’t un-rubber banded her hand from her hip because I don’t want to lose it.

Picture Day Abbey Bominable

I ♥ Fashion Abbey Bominable

Hnnnng. Okay. I love this one for her outfit more than anything. Though I do love her hairstyle – a nice simple, half ponytail with long hair always makes me giddy – it’s the outfit that makes this one for me. The sweater dress is so different from any other outfit she’s ever been given, it’s so simple and classy, and when you couple it with her legwarmers, it just makes for a very, very nice look.

I actually have the other two outfits that came in this I ♥ Fashion set, but I have yet to put them on anyone. One of these days I’ll grab a couple of cheap Abbeys from somewhere and take care of that, just for completions sake. I don’t actually care much for one of those outfits, because the one that had pants was so bloody hard to get on and off the doll that I was growling in frustration. But, since I tend to dress my dolls once and then leave them be – I’ve lost too many fiddly bits (like Lagoona’s leg fins) with too much redressing – I think I could manage it one last time, long as I never had to do it again.

Dot Dead Gorgeous Abbey Bominable

Dot Dead Gorgeous Abbey Bominable

This doll represents the first time I’ve ever bought a doll that came in a larger set, with no intention of keeping the other two. (Draculaura can miss me, and while I like Ghoulia a lot, I have two Ghoulia dolls that I really love and don’t really see getting anymore.) But I had to have Abbey, because this Dot Dead Gorgeous line just pinged all my little loves. Blue? Check. Ponytails? Check. POLKA-DOTS? CHECK.

What I really love about Dot Dead Gorgeous Abbey is the way everything is nicely tied together. The pink on her lips matches the pink on her dress, and the blue in her jewelry matches the blue in her dress. Add in that her polka-dots are actually snowflakes and I just fell out when I saw her. I knew I had to have her, so I bit down and got the set. Lala and Ghoulia are around here somewhere, but Abbey sits happily with the rest. No regrets! Not for a minute! She’s perfect, really.

Ghouls Rule Abbey Bominable

Ghouls Rule Abbey Bominable

I’m just gonna be honest. It took a bit for me to warm up on this girl. I hated the fiddly bits that she came with – the shoulder bobbles and the belt – because they made it impossible for her to stand in her stand. The shoulder bobbles in particular made her very top heavy. But, once I took them off, I realized I liked her very much. And now that I’m not using stands for my Abbey dolls, due to the nature of the cupboard they live in, I was able to put them back on her and they really do look very good, and work very well at tying the whole outfit together. And now I love her.

There’s so much to love about her too! For one, her dress is just gorgeous. Simple and understated, compared to some of the flashier outfits that came on other Ghouls Rule dolls (Draculaura, I’m lookin’ at you). Her headpiece is really precious, and I love her hairstyle with the twists and all. Her boots, which aren’t pictured, have just a touch of translucence and they’re really cute. But the thing that just moves this particular Abbey right into the “favorite column”?

The faceup. For one, the pearlized lipstick is just so pretty. Gives her a bit more shimmer, which most Abbey dolls come built in with anyway, but just saying. It really adds something to the face. Her eye makeup is understated and pretty, and then comes the winner. The snowflake decorations around her eyes. She’s just so beautiful.

Basic Abbey Bominable

Basic Abbey Bominable

To me, you can’t do a feature like this and not include the doll that started it all. From the minute I saw that promo picture, I knew she was the one. And she did not disappoint once I finally found her (which as we all know, she was a hard one to find!) I loved her instantly and hugged that box to my chest like I had just found the Holy Grail.

Everything about this doll is pretty much perfect. From her dress, to her shiny tights, to her super long hairs and fuzzy leg and arm warmers and stompy boots, there is nothing about the original release of Abbey Bominable that I don’t just adore.

Classroom Abbey Bominable

Classroom Abbey Bominable

Oh my goodness, do I love this doll! She’s just so cute. There’s such a 50’s vibe about her ponytail and the style of her shirt and the apron. It really looks like she could skate out with your food at the local drive in, doesn’t it? I have a spare pair of Rollermaze skates. Maybe…  anyway! I guess that’s why I like her, cause I can headcanon so many things for her in this one! I was lucky, I didn’t even have to fool with Heath on this one, I went halfsies on this with a friend, she kept Heath, I got Abbey, it all worked out!

And finally….

Music Festival Abbey Bominable

Music Festival Abbey Bominable

Oh my god. From the first time I saw this pretty girl… I tell you what. I squealed. Ask Neth if you want proof, seriously. I squealed long and hard. Because she is a straight up hippie. C’mon, a folk concert? Yesss. And I am such a hippie myself. So this just hit me right in the feels, I tell ya. That hair, too! Oh, that hair! Gimme a head with hair, long beautiful hair… Sorry. There’s not a thing I don’t love about this doll and as soon as I had her in my hands, she rocketed right into first place. The only thing that would have made her better? Molding one of her hands into a peace sign. I tried to make it do so with little rubber bands, but sadly it just didn’t happen. Woe.

So anyway, there we are! My Top 9 Abbey Bominable dolls! It pained me to leave some out, but there’s some that just don’t quite reach the pinnacles of these ones here.

See you soon!

One thought on “My Favorite Things: Abbey Bominable!

  1. Ha, Abbey Bominable is my Mom’s favorite character. I’m sure if she didn’t have kids to feed she would buy every single one, just like you.
    Though my Mom also likes Draculaura, she says that’s exactly what she would look like if she was a vampire. (Sheesh!)

Leave a Reply

