REVIEW: Monster High’s “Frights, Camera, Action: Hauntlywood” Clawdia Wolf

I’ve reiterated a few times on this blog how much I was looking forward to the Frights, Camera, Action line that was soon to be coming from Mattel, and especially the new characters. I writhed with jealousy everytime I saw a picture on Tumblr of one of the new girls, and checked my stores faithfully to make sure I wasn’t missing them.

I had about given up hope. My Target remains utterly picked clean of dolls (save for one random find I couldn’t believe this morning, but we’ll get to that after this review.)

One of my local Walmart stores had nothing either. Nothing at all. I was upset! I very nearly grabbed a Gigi Grant off the shelf even though I had no desire for the character so I’d least have something to write about. A stronger head prevailed though. “Go to the mall, it’s right on the way home,” it said. “There’s a Justice there.”

Wellllll, for reasons that I will, again, expound on after this review, I did suddenly badly want the Swim Line Rochelle Goyle that was a Justice exclusive…

So, I put Gigi back on the shelf, grabbed up my wrapping paper and giftbags for Giftmas work happies, hightailed it through the self-checkout and headed up the street to the mall.

And when I got there, I hit dollie paydirt.

I’d hoped for maybe a Blondie Locks or a Cerise Hood, but they were not forthcoming. The Monster High shelves though… they had an embarrassment of riches.

I got my first good look at Elissabat, said “MEH!” and put her back on the shelf. And then… there she was.

clawdia001I LOVE the Wolf family in Monster High. I have repeatedly eyed the Draculaura/Clawd two-pack that’s a Kmart exclusive just so I can finally have a Clawd in my collection and complete the family circle, but I have yet to bite. (Vampire. Bite. Ha. I kill me.) But the girls are so gorgeous. Clawdeen is stunning, Howleen is adorable, and Clawdia is the prettiest yet!

Clawdia in box

Clawdia in box

Here she is in the box. The first thing I noticed? The boxes are smaller. I didn’t get a picture of this, and I should have, but it is most definitely a smaller box. I also love, love, love the art. The Clawdia art on the front is so pretty, and the black carpet look on the backdrop is really sleek and pretty.

Closeup

Closeup

Right away, Clawdia hits you with that million-watt smile. I love that they’re still making new face molds and that someghoul like Clawdia got one as vibrant as this. It really sets the tone of her personality. She comes with a stand, diary, comb, notebook and pencil, and a tablet that fell outta somewhere and was shaking around on the bottom of the box.

Box art

Box art

Here’s the box art on the bottom. The stylized Frights, Camera, Action logo, with a little red Skullette at the top surrounded by lights, Clawdia’s name and her status as a Daughter of the Werewolf, and that gorgeous, gorgeous picture of her, done in the CGI style of the Monster High movies. She is gorgeous.

Top half of the back of the box.

Top half of the back of the box.

And here we get some background on Clawdia. Which just made me love her more. She’s 19, likes “Tribal Prep,” is a huge lit geek, chews when she gets thinky.

Bottom half of the back of the box

Bottom half of the back of the box

And the basic plot for Frights, Camera, Action.ย  (I did not pay $34 for her. As you well know, things at Justice are ALWAYS ON SALE.)

Alright, enough of this. Out the box we go!

Insert pulled out.

Insert pulled out.

Here she is free of the outer box, there’s her diary and stand.

Her diary is sweet. When there’s only two “families” shown in the course of the show, Clawdia stands out already, but what makes her stand out even more to me is that, unlike Nefera, who is a straight-up mean girl (Alpha Bitch if you want to get to the trope name, it was also once called The Libby), Clawdia is much nicer. In her diary she writes of speaking often to her siblings and how much she misses her family, and she seems to be a sensitive, sweet girl. I like that. I don’t do Alpha Bitch characters so much.

Anyway. We’ve all seen a million deboxings of Monster High, they’re all the same really. So, it’s a snip of plastic, a yank of a couple of ties that were stuck in her head and…

Clawdia on her stand

Clawdia on her stand

She’s free! My gods, y’all, she is gorgeous.

Close up.

Close up.

Here’s a better look at her face, before her glasses are pulled down. She’s got such a vibrant looking face, I really love it. Her make up is markedly subtle for a Monster High doll, which I like, because it doesn’t detract from that gorgeous smile. She’s got her family’s wolf ears, which are of course pierced, and bright yellow eyes. She’s of a darker skin tone than Clawdeen and Howleen, which I dig a lot.

Jacket

Jacket

Her outfit consists of a red corduroy jacket over a gold and black lame’ dress.

Jacket held with velcro!

Jacket held with velcro!

The jacket is held with a tiny piece of velcro for easy undressing and shows the gorgeous dress underneath. It’s definitely a very chic look!

Knees and toes, knees and toes...

Knees and toes, knees and toes…

She wears red knee high stockings and gold shoes to complete her look.

Glasses down.

Glasses down.

And here she is with her glasses down. I later took that rubber band off, her hair actually does a really good job holding her glasses on, which is nice, helps to compensate for her lack of side ears.

Okay, off with her clothes!

Nekkid

Nekkid

She has all the same articulation of any other Monster High doll, and she uses the Nefera body mold, making her the fourth released character to use this mold, the others being Headmistress Bloodgood and Gigi Grant.

Front to back splits, right to the floor!

Front to back splits, right to the floor!

She does a mean front-to-back split, but…

Side-to-side splits... well, honey, you tried...

Side-to-side splits… well, honey, you tried…

But getting her to do a side-to-side split just looked painful and I was afraid I was going to break her legs, so we just stopped and she sat with her legs akimbo.

Kneeling

Kneeling

She kneels like a champ, though!

Sitting

Sitting

Though the chair is a little small for her, she also sits very well. Knees together, very ladylike!

Alright, back into your clothes.

Bratzillaz Vampelina, Ever After High Ashlynn Ella, Scarily Ever After Clawdeen Wolf, Clawdia, Basic Howleen Wolf, Midnight Magic Pippa, Barbie Katniss Everdeen

Bratzillaz Vampelina, Ever After High Ashlynn Ella, Scarily Ever After Clawdeen Wolf, Clawdia, Basic Howleen Wolf, Midnight Magic Pippa, Barbie Katniss Everdeen

Here’s for some size comparison. She comes the closest in height to Midnight Magic Pippa and Katniss, stands slightly taller than her sister Clawdeen and towers over Howleen.

Rooting

Rooting

Her hair is thickly rooted yellow saran which is pulled into a ponytail (that I won’t take out) except for two curls at the front, and her scalp has been lightly painted yellow to cover up any thin spots. Her hair is so bright and cheerful!

Here’s a few more shots of this gorgeous girl.

Million-watt smile

Million-watt smile

Getting ready to write her next masterpiece.

Getting ready to write her next masterpiece.

Would I recommend Clawdia? Wholeheartedly! If you’ve skipped on the larger dolls for not liking the characters (like I have), finally there’s a taller doll for you! She is absolutely stunning, and will be a treasure in any collection. Definitely give her a look if you see her, she is most certainly worth it.

And now… other stuff! Woo!

2013 Swim Line Rochelle Goyle - Justice Exclusive

2013 Swim Line Rochelle Goyle – Justice Exclusive

Rochelle has become another “Gotta Get ‘Em All!” for me. I don’t know what it is about her, I just love her. And I love her cute little swimsuit… but that waxy hair… oof.

DJ Spectra V

DJ Spectra V

So, Amazon had the 13 Wishes Dance Party Thingyhopper marked down for Cyber Week, marked way down. Like $16. So, I bit. Cause I got a doll, and then a free iPod dock, chair and stuff like that. But face it, I got it for the doll, because Spectra is my other other GGTA doll. And she’s SUPER cute. I like the change over from purple and silver to purple and gold, it suits her well, and I really like her outfit too!

Jane Boolittle!

Jane Boolittle!

The first time I saw real pictures of her, and not the Instagrammed prototype, I squealed. She was SO cute, and she has two dads! Woo! She’s adorable. Haven’t deboxed yet because I don’t know where I’m to put her, but I’ll find someplace!

Picture Day Operetta

Picture Day Operetta

I found her at Target this morning. There were a bunch of Catty Noir dolls, and her, and that was pretty much it! Considering she’s been so hard to find? I was happy to find her. I know there was something of a kerfluffle over her mask not being like it was in the promo shots, but I couldn’t care less about that. I just wanted the outfit to be honest. However… the day was made for me with the picture.

Bwa!

Bwa!

This cracks me up so much I don’t even know why. But it does. It’s cute! Going to be turned into an LJ icon shortly.

Articulated Rarity

Articulated Rarity

Okay, so she’s not sitting her best, because that dress is hard to sit in, but the articulated Rarity doll! She’s SO cute! Really hard to photograph, but really cute nevertheless!

This is kind of all thrown together, and you may not hear from me much until Giftmas, but I’ll hopefully get something else up here soon. Probably not another review, cause I can’t really buy anything until I know what I’ve got under the tree but we’ll see!

20 thoughts on “REVIEW: Monster High’s “Frights, Camera, Action: Hauntlywood” Clawdia Wolf

  1. Clawdia is beautiful, I like her personality verry much. If I collected monster high I would definitely add her.
    I thought it was headless headmistress bloodgood, who is the same hight as Nefera.

      • You’re right. I dug into it more and you’re right. What makes it different is that Gigi apparently uses the Nefera torso, but has regular legs and stuff? I have no clue, I don’t have a Gigi or a Nefera to compare this. I saw another Gigi at Target today but I was in a hurry to get to work so I didn’t grab her.

  2. Awww man! Did you happen to see Viperine there as well? I don’t care for Elissabat neither, but I did want Clawdia.(to complete my wolf sister collection) I live in the south, and I have seen the new “scaremester” Catrine and Jinafire but that’s it.

    • I did not, unfortunately. I really want Viperine and Honey Swamp the most, but I didn’t see either of them. And I really want the Scaremester dolls you mentioned too, I love Catrine and Jinafire both so much.

  3. Hi all. I need help to find the Viperine doll. Can you buy it in store? I live in Sweden, but i have friend in Hartford CT, who is coming home for christmas, hopefully with the Viperine doll for my kid. Anyone who can help out ?

  4. I love that she’s got that great big friendly grin, but I could do without the acid yellow hair. But I feel like this is one of those ‘in-person’ girls, like Twyla. You gotta see to be in love ๐Ÿ™‚ I get the GOTTA HAVES about Rochelle though; she’s SUCH a cutie. Really either of the gargoyles currently available in the line. I’d even deal with another pink generic vampire boy to snag another gargoyle guy because they’re that wonderful blend between sheepish and adorable.

    • I am now, in hindsight, kicking myself for not picking up the CAM pack with the Gargoyle boy so I could try to make Garrott, Rochelle’s boyfriend from the Scaris movie.

  5. First of all, I just signed up to follow your blog and I’m so glad you immediately sensed how awesome I am. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I love Clawdia and she’s definitely on my wishlist after Honey Swamp, and followed by lots more. I’m not so sure about Clawdia’s gold dress but have no problems with the bright hair. I love her smile and cheerfulness.
    At the moment we have the ’13 wishes’ dolls in our stores and Howleen is sooo cute. Ik also like Twyla and the bright coloured Lagoona, but am not so sure about Gigi. I’m not so impressed by the 3 other ’13 wishes’ dolls with the lamps(?). And those are a lot more expensive. I saw some pictures of a Clawdeen with partly bright green hair and I think that looks great. But we usually don’t get that much variety in MH dolls, sigh. We’ll see. Still, I do hope to one day have Howleen and all her siblings…
    Linda

    • Clawdia’s dress grows on you. It works well under the red jacket… makes me want to give her some of Apple White’s accessories! She rocks the red and gold! Our stores here are still trying to roll out the 13 Wishes too. I got the Abbey Haunt the Casbah doll, and she’s adorable, but I’m just not feeling the others. I like Freshwater Lagoona’s dress but that’s about all I liked on her. Twyla I got from The Toybox Philosopher, bless her, and I found Gigi the other day. She’s too tall for my shelf with that hair, so I’m working on an alternate hairstyle for her.

      The only Wolf sibling I don’t have is Clawd. Mostly cause I just don’t do boy dolls. I’d make an exception for him though.

      Welcome, Linda! Thanks for joining me over here at the Snarker!

  6. Wow this doll is really unique, you are the first one to review it…as far as I follow blogs. Thanks for that, she won’t hit South Africa for a long time still, so love that I got to see her here. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

