REVIEW: Equestria Girls “Pinkie Pie’s Boutique” Pinkie Pie, by Hasbro.

It’s that time of year where we send boxes of wrapped boxes to and fro across the country to our loved ones. For me this includes, as my mother would say, “my friends who live in the internet” but to me, these friends are as real and true as if they lived here where I live.

Nethilia and I don’t make any sort of attempt to hide that we are very close friends. We mention each other on our blogs, and I think Emily over at Toy Box Philosopher has gotten pretty used to the fact that if Nethilia is there, AJ is soon to follow, or vice versa. We talk daily, sharing dolly and pony squee, talking about everything under the sun, and just loving each other as best we can from legit across this big country. To me, she isn’t just a friend who lives in the internet, she is a true friend that I love deeply and can’t imagine my life without.

(And to think if I hadn’t bucked up my courage and gotten over a shade of social awkwardness, I wouldn’t have her in my life.)

Yesterday I got a box in the mail from her and it contained an embarrassment of riches. I was told that I could open it whenever I wanted, and so I did, since the slim space to walk past the tree in our house is getting slimmer. One of the things in the box is the doll you’re about to meet, so lets just get to it and meet Pinkie Pie!

The Pinkie Pie's Boutique Line, featuring Equestria Girls Pinkie Pie

The Pinkie Pie’s Boutique Line, featuring Equestria Girls Pinkie Pie

The Pinkie Pie’s Boutique line is a Target exclusive line that started appearing earlier this fall, though the ponies themselves started showing up on Taobao about a month before the line was announced. The Fashion Style pony on the left was the first one to show up, and she gained the nickname “Black Tie Fashion” Pinkie until the line was announced. More often than not, nowadays, people affectionately call her Gothie Pie, due to the black and white coupled in with the varying shades of signature pink.

I can’t even lie, y’all. I love this line. Funny enough, I wasn’t overly fond of Pinkie Pie when Friendship is Magic first started, but the removal of someone from my life and some other things made me appreciate the little gal. In addition to that, the other pony we see in the line is G3 favorite Wysteria in G4 (and glittery!) form, and that made me indescribably happy as well. Also, this line is basically everything bronies hate wrapped into one adorable pony line: it’s got pink, fashion, sparkles, glitter and more pink. They hate it. And anything that bronies openly loathe that much is bound to be something I like. Heh.

The addition of an Equestria Girls version also made me very happy, because I have been loud in my love of the movie and the dolls – in fact, the dolls were what I really wanted. Though I don’t like the pegged feet, I can live with that as long as they keep giving me cute shoes for them. So when I found this Pinkie in my box from Neth, I was a happy girl!

Box

Box

Here she is in her box. It’s so pink and girly! 😀

Box details

Box details

And here’s some of the details. The Target exclusive sticker, the logo, and the touting of a “Clip-in ponytail for you & me!” Um… no thanks.

gothiepie004“A magic mirror connects the world of My Little Pony to Canterlot High, where some things change, but true friendships remain magical!” Hee. The whole “magic of friendship” thing makes some people roll their eyes, but I can’t get enough of it. I’ve made the best friends I’ve ever made because of this show, so… roll your eyes all you want, but it’s real for me!

More box detail

More box detail

“Pinkie Pie’s Boutique offers a dazzling collection of stylish, fashion fun!” Okay then.

Last of the box detail

Last of the box detail

I LOVE THIS VECTOR. And I wish the outfit we got Pinkie in was the one she was drawn in, it’s so cute!

Alright, enough box. Lets get her out!

Out of the box - sorry for the blurriness.

Out of the box – sorry for the blurriness.

Here she is pulled out of the outer box. She’s in there all snug, but she was surprisingly easy to get out! Wanna see why? Doesn’t matter if you do or not, you’re gonna!

Back of the insert

Back of the insert

All that’s holding her in there are ties that are wrapped around cardboard thingies, and rubber bands. No plastic ties stuck into the back of her head, no plastic shackles around her wrists, nothing. There was nothing even that I needed to clip! Hasbro, you win the packaging round! Mattel, take note!

Stuff

Stuff

Here’s everything she comes with. An extra dress, an extra pair of boots, purse, ponytail, brush, Club Card and advertising insert! Lets shove this all to the side and…

Pinkie Pie, at last!

Pinkie Pie, at last!

Here she is! She’s so incredibly cute. I love the fluorescent pink hair and the black stripes. Basically, everything about this, I love. I also love her big smile, it’s so, so Pinkie!

Hair shot - front

Hair shot – front

Her hair is rooted nylon, like her four-legged counterparts, and is thatched at the top, with two black streaks coming down to frame her face.

Face shot

Face shot

Her eyes are big and blue, and she has pink eyeshadow, topped off with glittery eyeshadow all the way up to her pink eyebrows. the eyes are really expressive for painted eyes. They, again, scream Pinkie to me, they pull together the whole “I’m so excited I’ve never been so excited!” thing she does so well.

Cutie Mark

Cutie Mark

Her cutie mark is on her cheek, and instead of the two blue and one yellow balloon of her usual self, it’s two black balloons and one hot pink. One minor quibble is that on the other ponies, one of those balloons is white, but really, I don’t care.

Dress

Dress

Her dress has a one-shouldered black bodice with hearts in red, pink and silver, and the skirt is glittery pink tulle, and kind of wears like a tutu. Sigh. I’m really over this whole tutu craze, but I guess it fits for her. The dress is a little big on her actually.

Boots

Boots

Her boots are black calf-high, with pink soles and pink painted decorations that really do serve to pull the whole outfit together. I really like these boots. She stands really well in them!

Back of her head

Back of her head

She’s kind of thinly-rooted at her skull, but as you can see from previous and upcoming pictures, her hair is quite thick. I’ve not brushed her hair because I do love her factory curls, but eventually I will probably try and get her more of a Pinkie Pie hairstyle with straws and boil perming. I always say I’m going to do all this shit and then I never do. Sigh. Anyway, moving on.

Red Bull gives Pinkie wings?

Red Bull gives Pinkie wings?

All Equestria Girls body molds have the space for the plastic wings insert. I guess that this helps in the case of customization (I can think of a few people who would love to make the Pony Gaga Rarity from Season 1), but it seems silly to me just the same. Her dress is such an odd fit, and you can really tell it from the back. Oh well, it’s a cute dress anyhow.

Dress

Dress

The dress is just one piece, the bodice has velcro to hold it together, but the skirt doesn’t, but it stays pretty well closed without it.

This was the ONLY WAY I could get her to stand once I took her boots off.

This was the ONLY WAY I could get her to stand once I took her boots off.

Yes, she’s standing on her dress. Don’t judge me.

She has the standard Equestria Girls body mold. I really do wish they’d introduce some new characters and new body types, the way Monster High and Ever After High have done. I’ve always pictured Pinkie as one of the shortest of the bunch in my own headcanon.

Molded bodice, molded panties.

Molded bodice, molded panties.

And, like all Equestria Girls, she has a molded bodice up top and molded “panties” on the bottom. Standard, bla bla.

Woops.

Woops.

And as you can see, her thighs and her lower legs are two different colors. I find it rather endearing actually. Like she was zipping around and her pink hasn’t caught up to her all the way yet.

Sitting

Sitting

She actually sits really well! I had to turn her sideways because she’s actually too short for the Monster High chair, and her hair gets in the way a lot (it’s so long!), but she sits nicely! Protip! Her arms especially – and I think this has been true of all the articulated Equestria Girls so far – may at first try be a little hard to move. There’s a tiny bit of plastic that seems to be stuck there, but if you bend her arms a few times, it should clear out and you can pose her quite nicely!

I should have posed her on Apple White’s couch. Oh well. Some other time.

You tried.

You tried.

She can’t do a side-to-side split at all, and because of her pegged feets, I had to hold her because otherwise she kept tipping forward and going splat right on her face. I don’t know how durable these faceups are yet and I don’t want to risk her getting smudged after Neth looked so hard for her for me!

That's better!

That’s better!

She does a mean front-t0-back split though! And this time, I didn’t have to hold her or anything.

Kneeling

Kneeling

She kneels like a champ too! I really like this picture and I don’t know why.

Other dress

Other dress

Her other dress is here as well. It, again, velcros all the way down the bodice and the skirt matches up nicely at the back. It has two straps instead of just the one. The bodice is shimmery pink lame’, which flares down into an underskirt of sorts, and then there’s a pattern of pink and white balloons, like on her cutie mark, on black. I really like this dress. Again, it feels a little too big for her when I put it on, but that doesn’t bother me much.

The whole second outfit

The whole second outfit

The only downside of the second outfit, really, is that she doesn’t stand as well in the pink ankle boots as she does in the almost knee-high ones. It took a lot of posing to get her to stand long enough for this picture. I can forgive it though, cause I like to think the black boots would look pretty good with this outfit too. The purse is molded and doesn’t open, but does have a strap that with a little finagling will go over her hand and hang on her wrist.

So, that’s her! I think she’s incredibly cute, and she makes a nice addition to the shelf, and she stands out quite a bit with her fluorescent hair and bright outfits.

That's me, Pinkie!

That’s me, Pinkie!

Final thoughts. I love the articulated dolls so much. I wish they’d started right off with the articulated ones, I think it would have made so much more sense. I get that they were trying to test the waters. I just hope that going down the line, we get Deluxe versions of the girls we haven’t gotten yet: Twilight Sparkle and Applejack, and a non-Gothie Pie Pinkie.

I think that Hasbro does need to work on their clothes a little bit. There’s no excuse for the clothes being that much too big on these dolls, and I ran into the same problem with my articulated Rarity. The designs are very cute, but I would like to see them fit a little better.

Here’s a few more pictures of Gothie Pie!

Thank you again to my dear Nethie for giving her to me. Love you. ❤

Yo dawg, I heard you like Pinkie Pie so I gave you a Pinkie Pie so your Pinkie Pie can ride a Pinkie Pie.

Yo dawg, I heard you like Pinkie Pie so I gave you a Pinkie Pie so your Pinkie Pie can ride a Pinkie Pie.

gothiepie031

Why am I on this spooky chair?!

Why am I on this spooky chair?!

Leave a Reply

