REVIEW: Ever After High Basic C.A. Cupid

Hope everyone had a wonderful Giftmas! We had a good one over here, me and the family!

So, Cupid arrived. This is a good thing and obviously, you’re going to see her! But, I hate to inform you that until I get paid again, this will probably be the last review for awhile. While editing my pictures today, I discovered that there’s no way around it anymore. I need a tripod that’s tall enough to photograph the area I need it to, and I need to find a way to jerry-rig a light somewhere on there. My shaky hands are just no good for non-flash pictures, and if I’m going to be taking pictures after I get home at night, then that’s a problem too, because it’s dark outside and that’s not a great thing. So… you’ll get some opinion pieces until then, should the mood strike me to do so, and maybe a giveaway if I can find some swag to give out, and then when I get my tripod sitch worked out, then we’ll get back to reviews.

Anyway, the nice thing of having done so many Monster High and Ever After High reviews – and being one of many, many people who does them! – is that I don’t have to fuss too much about the packaging, though there will be some pictures of them just the same. So, lets go meet C.A. Cupid! Again.

cupid001So, as has been made Chariclo Arganthone Cupid, better known as C.A. Cupid, more commonly just called Cupid, is a recent transfer to Ever After High from Monster High. Her personality has remained, as far as I can gather, largely unchanged. She’s a helpful girl, believes in love, is career-oriented, and just seems to dig people. As an addition to her Ever After High adventures, she has a crush on Dexter Charming, though he has a crush on Raven Queen. Her roommate is Blondie Lockes, and her “Best Friends Forever After” are Apple White, Raven Queen and “everyone in between with an open heart.” So basically… she is basically friends with everyone. Cute!

C.A. Cupid about to walk through the mirror to Ever After High.

C.A. Cupid about to walk through the mirror to Ever After High.

So lets have a look!

Cupid in Box

Cupid in Box

So, here’s her box. It’s an Ever After High box, enough said. Her diary up in the corner there signifies her as a Rebel.

Back of the box

Back of the box

Same as all of them. I did find out the meaning of the keyhole there… apparently there was a lot of confusion as to if these dolls came with stands, since they were tucked into the “spine” of the “book.” So now, there’s a hole there so you can see for yourself that she has a stand. Ha. Stand. We’ll get back to this.

Closeup of the top of the back.

Closeup of the top of the back.

Just the same as the others.

Other half, Q&A.

Other half, Q&A.

And here’s the other half with her little Q&A. Interesting there… Ashlynn Ella is listed as a Rebel, though she is most certainly a Royal. Hmm. Perhaps Ashlynn learned  from Raven that you can choose your own destiny and follow her heart to her really rather adorable boyfriend Hunter? That’d be nice to see.

Side. Just for completeness sake.

Side. Just for completeness sake.

And there’s the spine of her book, she’s the Daughter of Eros.

So, we pull off the outer plastic, as you do. That first look without the plastic there is always crucial for me. I can usually tell if I’m really going to like a doll after that plastic is gone.

Begone, plastic cover!

Begone, plastic cover!

Yep, she’s a winner! So, we do some snips here, we get the hemostats out and yank those plastic ties out of her head (MATTEL. Look at how Equestria Girls is doing it and FOLLOW THEIR LEAD. PLEASE.), and we take a few loose strands of hair with us. Oh well.

First shot!

First shot!

So here she is in all her very pink glory! She really is quite cute! Her dress seems to be Greek inspired, which makes sense. The bodice wears vaguely like a toga top, and then comes down into a more modern skirt.

Up top.

Up top.

Her wings like her previous release, hook around her neck with a bent arrow. And herein comes the reason for the laughter about the stand. You can either have Cupid wear her wings, or you can have her on her stand. Apparently, you cannot have both. And I tried. but there was just no way to make it work at all. That’s a pisser, because her wings are a part of her. I’m bound and determined to figure this out. I did try standing her on a Monster High saddle stand, but unfortunately, it’s too tall for her, and her feet didn’t touch the base. And with her wings on, they made her very top-heavy, so she kept trying to fall out of it. I’ll have to come up with something.

Headband

Headband

Her headpiece is a dark pink molded heart with an arrow through it. It’s attached to a gold headband that fits snugly around her head. This is definitely a call back to the twisted hair heart on her head in her Monster High release.

Wings Detail

Wings Detail

Her wings are molded to look like feathers, rather than bone, and there’s some lovely “antiquing” on them, like before. There will be comparison pictures later on.

Outfit

Outfit

Her outfit is really cute! The top is pink linen of some sort,and it is some sort of Greek style, because I’ve seen this style of top on statues, but I can’t seem to puzzle out what the name of it is. A wide black belt with a gold leaf designed buckle is in the middle, and it goes down into a print skirt with lace around the bottom hem. There’s some gold tulle netting covering from the shoulders down to the skirt.

Top

Top

Here’s the top. The netting adds a wonderful affect, though I think the dress would work just as well without it.

Skirt

Skirt

The skirt fits her nicely, and has a lovely print of clouds and arrows with heart tips, and some really nice black lace around the bottom. I really like this outfit.

Shoes

Shoes

Her shoes are golden and have wing details on the ankle strap, and arrows for heels, with her signature heart and leaves as decorations.

Bangle

Bangle

She wears a simple gold bangle on her left wrist.

Earrings

Earrings

And black heart-shaped earrings. Also, she has a very lovely profile!

Ring

Ring

The brand standard ring on her right hand is a twisted black arrow, the tip is on one end and the fletching is on the other. You can also see her bow there, sort of. It’s molded gold with some pink details, and her unpictured quiver of arrows matches.

Sleeve detail

Sleeve detail

Her sleeves come out a little over her shoulders, with a bit of faux-netting again, that I think really helps to tie it all together.

Faceup

Faceup

Her face is very sweet. She has lovely blue eyes, with hearts in them, and she has pink eyeshadow around them! Her lips are painted pink, with a darker pink/red heart in the center.

Hair

Hair

Her hair is long and thick… too think. It’s actually very matty straight out the box, and even brushing it didn’t really help much. She’s going to be joining Scarah and Gigi in the salon this weekend.

Wings detail

Wings detail

Here’s her wings. The antiquing effect is only on one side, the other side is just white.

Now, being as how this is the first character to cross the streams, and I am fortunate enough to have a Monster High C.A. Cupid, I thought I’d play around with some comparison shots and ratings.

My Cupid doll holds a special place in my heart, because she was the first ever Great Dollie Deal I ever got. I’d gone to Target one day, fairly early in the day, and there was a feller there unpacking dolls. I happened to glance over and there she was! So I went over to him and said “I’ll take that one!” He grinned and handed it to me, and I got the rest of my stuff and went to the checkout. When I got there, she wouldn’t ring up! So the manager on duty went to “check the price” and told the girl helping me, “$3.99.” I stared, she stared, he grinned. “Deal of the day!” he said, wandering away with a grin on his face. Turns out, it was his last day so he made someone else’s day!

So yeah, Cupid’s pretty special to me anyway because of that, and because I just liked the character on Monster High anyway. So lets do some comparisons between the two!

Side by side

Side by side (please ignore the fuzz on MH Cupid’s face)

So here they are side by side. I have to say… I have to give overall look to Ever After High Cupid. Monster High Cupid is incredibly cute, but she is also a lot creepier with her narrow, bony face, pale skin and invisible lips except for the fish mouth. Ever After High Cupid just looks sweeter.

Compare the dresses

Compare the dresses

A tie, I think. Both dresses are incredibly cute and look good on their respective doll, and suit her style well. I may have to see sometime how they look on the other one, though I can’t see Ever After Cupid’s dress looking great on Monster Cupid.

Bows!

Bows!

Is it even a question? Ever After’s bow looks like a bow, not just a weird finger armor thing. Ever After wins by a mile.

Lets get some shoes!

Lets get some shoes!

Again, edge to Ever After. The shoes are so detailed and stand out so nicely. Monster High gets the edge for the lacing and gradients on her legs, which has been a feature of hers I’ve always liked, but the shoes go to Ever After High.

Wing fronts

Wing fronts

On the fronts of the wings, again, edge goes to Ever After High. I like the feathers! I like that the antiquing effect is something that’s crossed over, cause I really enjoy that.

Wing backs

Wing backs

*sad trombone noise* And the edge goes to Monster High because that’s just sloppy, that they couldn’t take the effect around to the backs of the wings like they did on the other. Ever After High, I was rooting for you! We were all rooting for you!

So, ultimately, at least in my eye, Ever After High Cupid gets the edge. She is just all around cuter. But, Monster High Cupid does have her redeeming qualities and I still love her lots, of course. There’s room for both on the shelf, I think.

Ultimately, Ever After High Cupid has some faults (not being able to wear her wings and be on a stand, and her frizzed hair chief among them) but those faults are able to be overlooked by me, at least the hair, because I have the technology and I can rebuild her. 🙂 Mostly, I just think Ever After High Cupid is so much cuter, and her sweet demeanor, which came out in Monster High and that I loved, did carry over.

Here’s a few more pictures and we’ll see you next time!

cupid031 cupid032 cupid033

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Ever After High Basic C.A. Cupid

  1. I like MH better than EAH, (just my opinion here), so it really really really makes me sad to see Cupid transfer for some reason. Ugh. May have to buy this one, just because I missed the Cupid MH releases.

  2. I was thinking about getting this one because I didn’t get the monster high version of cupid, though I don’t like all the pink she has. Monster high cupid had more black and white…

  3. Thanks for the side by side. I don’t collect EAH but I love looking at them!
    I always thought Cupid was an odd addition to MH, despite other mythological characters like Deuce and Manny. And it seemed like they really had to try and make her more like a “monster” somehow. Its cool that they made it a canon that she officially transfered, but now that she looks like an actual goddess the adoption backstory is kind of unnecessary. Oh well XD

Leave a Reply

